SDCC 2013 Post-Coverage Day 1+2

San Diego Comic-Con 2013 is done! After a year off of SDCC, (2011 being my first Comic-Con) I had the amazing chance to return to San Diego for 2013!! I was very grateful for this opportunity and it has been the best weekend I have had! It was also the best Convention I have been to yet! (until SDCC 2014 at least).
It was a great pleasure to meet so many wonderful people throughout the weekend, whether we met on twitter first and saw each other in San Diego, or making new friends in lines and the crowds. Everyone was having a blast and I am sure it made each of our weekend’s that much better.
So, this post will be my day to day coverage. From the early morning on Thursday, to the end Sunday afternoon.

Day 1
San Diego, here I come! Due to rooms being booked, I was only able to get a room for Thursday-Sunday, that meant I leave Los Angeles at 4:00 am! I live about 30 minutes North of LA, and leaving that early was the best to avoid traffic. I made it to San Diego in 2 1/2 hours, and had my badge by 7:30. A tip for those that make a drive down to San Diego from the North, leave early! You not only beat the traffic on the roads and freeways, but you find parking easier, get in line earlier at the convention, and don’t have to deal with the heat as much in the morning.
Once I had my badge, I ran over to the Sails Pavilion for the Autograph Line, and hopped in, pretty far back but it was not too bad by the time I got in. The line was full on the stairs and went down the sidewalk quite a ways, and I was half way on the sidewalk. When I came into the Pavilion, I ran over to Robert Kirkman’s signing and scored a ticket on the first draw! Woo! Since we did not have to wait in line again, I ran back and got in line for the Robot Chicken signing and again, first draw I scored a ticket! I returned later that day to both booths (Robot Chicken in the Sails and Kirkman at the Image booth) and it was a great experience! The writers of Robot Chicken loved the fans and were all nice and having fun, especially Seth Green who loved the attention! He was getting on the table taking photos of us, signing our items and taking photos with fans too! Robert Kirkman was also nice, a quieter guy,signing as many items as you had! (Robot Chicken only allowed one personal item and their postcard)
Image
Image

Before the signings, I wandered the Convention floor, scouting out where I would go the other days, who to see, what to buy, etc. There is just so much to visit, you do get lost! I kept backtracking and making circles as I would down one row, wander to one side when I see something, then come around and forget which way I was headed!
All the exhibits were well set up and had plenty of space to walk through, (I will have a separate post highlighting my favorite exhibits and booths)

Also on the first day, I made my first SDCC 2013 Exclusive purchase! From the noteworthy, and amazing NECA collection, the Albino Predator and Friday the 13th Jason figure! Both will also have their own reviews later on.
A short walk around the Gaslamp district, then it was off to my room for an early night as I had an early rise the next day!

Day 2
So, Day 2 was all about Hall H! I never had the chance for Hall H during my first time to SDCC, so this year it was a must! I arrived to the Convention Center by 4:30 AM, and the line was absolutely insane!! Thousands of people already camped out, in their sleeping bags, running up and down the convention center and marina. BUT, I had a friend already in line so I was able to hop in with him! By 8 AM they were condensing the line, 9 AM letting people in, and we got in about 10 minutes before show time! (First panel was at 10:00 AM) I was very excited to see The Walking Dead Panel! Before that, I had the chance to watch The World’s End, Riddick, KickAss 2, Veronica Mars, (which I did not care for) and finally TWD! The World’s End welcomed Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg, and Nick Frost, giving us a great preview and discussing past work. KickAss 2 welcomed most of the main cast, along with special character tid bits when each actor was introduced. Riddick was my favorite panel other than TWD, as Vin Diesel and Katie Sackhoff discussed the making of the movie, their past success in the series, Vin talking about his obsession with Dungeons & Dragons, and even a fan asking “Vin Diesel, I have a Vision for you to be in a Marvel film” to which Vin replied “Wait about a month and Marvel will have some good news” as he chuckled and was hesitant to an answer!
Then came . . . The Walking Dead! Chris Hardwick was the moderator, as we welcomed creator Robert Kirkman, exec. producer Gale Ann Hurd, writer Scott Gimple, makeup artist Greg Nicotero, and the stars of the show Andrew Lincoln, Steven Yeun, Norman Reedus, Lauren Cohan, Scott Wilson, Danai Gurira, David Morrissey, and Chad Coleman! The crowd went nuts when each member was called out, even booing David Morrissey as a joke! They showed the world premiere Season 4 trailer, discussed the making of the show, the shooting, writing the episodes, and even being asked what they would do in a Zombie Apocalypse, which Norman Reedus (giving the best, funniest response) stated “I would take over a hotel, paint my self silver, run around naked in circles and watch South Park” a very pleasing answer to the crowd!
Image
Image

Image
Image

Image

Image
After the long, fun-filled day in Hall H, I headed back to the Exhibit Floor and jumped in line for The Walking Dead booth, which was set up like the prison with the barb-wire fence, tower with Rick at the top, Walkers roaming around, TV screens playing the trailer and episode clips, and photo-opps! You are given prop crowbars and pose with the Walker for free photos! Then, you are taken to the back, a private room closed off, which is set up like the Governor’s room with wall of heads and his daughter behind a gate, and given an eye patch, prop knife, and pose again! It was one of my favorite exhibits for SDCC, uniqu
Image
Image
Image

Friday was also great because I had the chance to meet Youtube star KassemG after his interview with a few cosplayers! Great guy, fun encounter, go watch his videos!
Image

After a crazy, fun filled day, I went to the Gaslamp District and walked around, experienced the sights, sounds, and cosplayers, and made a great purchase of a Bugs Bunny+Superman crossover print at the Course of the Force Chuck Jones Art Gallery! Mike Kungle was the artist, and did an amazing job on this piece! I loved it! I also luckily managed to get the #1 print, which was signed by Mike during his appearance the next day! Thanks to him, the wonderful art gallery, and the wonderful Kate who sold me the artwork!
Image

This will wrap up my Day 1 and 2 post! The next post will be all about Day 3 and 4! check back later tonight too for all my cosplay photos!!

Leave a Reply

